Heading Out to Wonderful

I mean to find a house, make a place to lay my head and all that takes money and it takes work, and butchering is what I know.” “Slaughtering? ... “How many?” “Four.” Using a knife and then a hacksaw for the 17 Heading Out to Wonderful.

Heading Out to Wonderful

A “deliciously dark and dangerous” novel of love and tragedy in post-WWII Virginia by the #1 New York Times–bestselling author of A Reliable Wife (O, The Oprah Magazine). It is the summer of 1948 when a handsome, charismatic stranger, Charlie Beale, recently back from the war in Europe, shows up in the town of Brownsburg, a sleepy village nestled in the Valley of Virginia. All he has with him are two suitcases: one contains his few possessions, including a fine set of butcher knives; the other is full of money. A lot of money. He’s searching for a home. What he finds is love. And what happens then will haunt Brownsburg for generations. Heading Out to Wonderful is a “tale of doomed love [that] resonates like a folk ballad, with the language of the Blue Ridge Mountains and its people giving this novel its soul . . . Like any good ballad, the narrative builds slowly to its violent climax, packs an emotional punch, and then haunts readers with its quintessentially American refrain” (Publishers Weekly).

More Books:

Heading Out to Wonderful
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Robert Goolrick
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-04-04 - Publisher: Random House

A stranger. A small town. The wife of the town's richest man. There’s no stopping what’s about to happen in this searing new novel from million copy bestseller, Robert Goolrick. For fans of The Help, Tigers in Red Weather and The Great Gatsby. It is the summer of 1948 when
Heading Out to Wonderful
Language: en
Pages: 328
Authors: Robert Goolrick
Categories: Large type books
Type: BOOK - Published: 1914-09-01 - Publisher: Charnwood

In the summer of 1948 a handsome, charismatic stranger named Charlie Beale, back from the war in Europe, shows up in the sleepy town of Brownsburg, Virginia. All he has with him are two suitcases: one contains a fine set of butcher's knives; the other is full of money. Charlie
A Reliable Wife
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Robert Goolrick
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010-01-05 - Publisher: Algonquin Books

Rural Wisconsin, 1909. In the bitter cold, Ralph Truitt, a successful businessman, stands alone on a train platform waiting for the woman who answered his newspaper advertisement for "a reliable wife." But when Catherine Land steps off the train from Chicago, she's not the "simple, honest woman" that Ralph is
A Sudden Light
Language: en
Pages: 416
Authors: Garth Stein
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-09-30 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

The New York Times bestselling “witty, atmospheric” (People) story of a once powerful American family, and the price that must be paid by the heirs as they struggle for redemption: “A captivating page-turner” (Star Tribune, Minneapolis). Twenty-three years after the fateful summer of 1990, Trevor Riddell recalls the events surrounding
A Dangerous Age
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Ellen Gilchrist
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2008-05-13 - Publisher: Algonquin Books

The winner of the National Book Award returns with a moving story of a family of women drawn together by the trials of the times. The women in the Hand family are no strangers to either controversy or sadness. Those traits seem, in fact, to be a part of their